The last artistic foundry remained in Venice, its story is told in each of the decorations in bronze and brass that make this city so unique: from the romantic street lamps to the original door knockers of the palaces on the Grand Canal, up to the marine decorations of the beautiful gondolas. Details that for the most part have been created at the foundry headquarters located in a charming industrial archeology setting.
Founded in 1913 by Luigi Valese, in 2006 his art was continued by Carlo Semenzato, a loyal employee for 28 years and current owner, who today is the passionate guardian of the traditional sand casting methods with the plug molding technique.
Book a visit at the factory when the sand casting process takes place and ask Mr. Semenzato to show you his amazing collection of antique models: like the iconic key-rings from the most famous luxury hotels in Venice, the beautiful gondola’s sea horses, or the iconic Saint Mark’s lion, the symbol of the city.
The foundry is located in the Cannaregio district, open only by appointment, whilst the Valese shop is in Calle Fiubera, a short walk from Saint Mark’s Square and it is open every day from 10.30 to 19.00.
Over the years, the city has turned to the Valese Foundry for the “maintenance” of many of its symbols: as in July 1989, it was commissioned the reconstruction of the Piazzetta S. Marco street lights which were destroyed during the legendary Pink Floyd concert.